Saturday, June 30, 2007

Save your Yahoo! Photos

I just received this email yesterday from Yahoo! Photos, telling me that my photos were going to disappear unless I took action. I couldn't help but wonder what if I my spam filter had eaten the message, or what if I wasn't using this email account anymore?

Considering that just 57% of individuals actually backup their personal data, how many people do you think are depending on Yahoo! to preserve their photos indefinitely? You can image the horrible feeling of logging in and realizing all those photos of your newborn child have ended up in the big bit bucket in the sky. Sigh...

Dear Yahoo! Photos user,
...

We will officially close Yahoo! Photos on Thursday, September 20, 2007, at 9 p.m. PDT. Until then, we are offering you the opportunity to move to another photo sharing service (Flickr, KODAK Gallery, Shutterfly, Snapfish, or Photobucket), download your original-resolution photos back to your computer, or buy an archive CD from our featured partner (for users of the New Yahoo! Photos only). All you need to do is tell us what to do with your photos before we close, after which any photos remaining on Yahoo! Photos will be deleted and no longer accessible.

...

Please give us your decision by Thursday, September 20, 2007, at 9 p.m. PDT. After that time, any photos remaining in Yahoo! Photos will be deleted. Click here to make your decision, or review a list of our frequently asked questions.